Annual Bankers Conference 2021

THEME: Bend but do not break: How the financial sector can thrive in the era of the 4th Industrial Revolution

Cohosted by Uganda Bankers Association and the Bank of Uganda
Officially sponsored by:



The Annual Bankers’ Conference (ABC) is a signature industry event that brings together regulators, practitioners and various industry experts from domestic, regional, international and national spheres involved in delivering financial/banking services, to discuss issues, trends, drivers and dynamics that are increasingly shaping sustainability strategies in banking, finance and the overall development ecosystem.


Bend but do not break: How the financial sector can thrive in the era of the 4th Industrial Revolution


Online on Zoom

Event Day

26-27th July 2021


Proff. Emmanuel Tumusiime-Mutebile Governor, Bank of Uganda

Dr. Patrick Ngugi Njoroge Governor, Central Bank of Kenya

Mr. Joseph Lutwama, BA (Arts), MA EPP Director Programs, FSD Uganda

Mr. James Onyutta Managing Director, FINCA Uganda Limited (MDI)

Mr. Ivan James Ssettimba Head Africa Office, Alliance for Financial Inclusion (AFI)

Mr. Timothy Musoke Chief Executive Officer, Laboremus Uganda Ltd

Mr. James Byaruhanga General Manager RAXIO DATA CENTRE

Mr. Paul Nel Head of Innovation Experian Africa

Mr. Soren Heitmann Operations Officer, IFC

Dr. Tumubweinee Twinemanzi Executive Director Supervision, Bank of Uganda

Mr. Shehryar Ali Country Manager East Africa, MasterCard

Ms. Anne Juuko Chief Executive Officer, Stanbic Bank Uganda

Mr. Peter Kawumi Country General Manager, Interswitch/ Board Chairman Financial Technology Service Providers Association (FITSPA)

Mr. Hosea Naturinda Makuru Head Information Security, Stanbic Bank Uganda

Dr. Vilius Benetis Cyber Security Consultant

Ms. Caroline Marion Acio Office of the Director Public Prosecutions

Mr. Andrew Mubiru Director Forensics, Uganda Police Force

Mr. Akeem Olujinmi Lawal Divisional Chief Executive Officer at Interswitch Group

Mr. Mathias Katamba Chief Executive Officer Dfcu Bank Uganda/ Chairman Uganda Bankers Association

Mr. Raghav Prasad Division President, Sub-Saharan Africa, Mastercard

Mr. Vincent Waiswa Bagiire Ministry of Information, Communication, Technology (ICT) and National Guidance.

Mr. Michael Niyitegeka Program Director Refactory at Clarke International University

Ms. Julie Kugonzebwa Tumuzoire Financial Services, FSD Uganda

Official Sponsor

The Conference aims to facilitate a focused discussion among financial sector players and stakeholders.